2007 Gold Nugget Award
Best Mixed Use Project
(located at the southwest corner of 11th & Grand)
Downtown Los Angeles, CA
Builder: Howard S. Wright Construction
Developer: South Group
Architect: Ankrom Moisan Associated Architects
Planner: Craig Lawson & Co. LLC

Background on the Gold Nugget Award

The Gold Nugget Awards (2007)

The Profile
In it's 44th year, the Gold Nugget Awards program is the premiere event of the annual Pacific Coast Builders Conference (PCBC). The oldest and largest program of its kind, Gold Nuggets honor creative achievements in architectural design and land use planning for residential, commercial and industrial projects. Entries come from 14 Western states and NEW for 2006 international entries are now accepted for all countries. Gold Nugget winners share one common denominator: excellence and innovation in addressing complex design/build issues. The competition is sponsored by PCBC and BUILDER, a national magazine of the housing industry. Co-sponsors include major building product manufacturers, financial institutions and builders, architects and associates in the real estate field.

The Legacy
The Gold Nugget Awards were born in 1963 at American Builder, for many years a national magazine of the building industry. They were conceived expressly for PCBC, to recognize builder/developer excellence throughout the 14 Western states. Almost immediately, the Gold Nuggets became known as "Best In The West," an accurate description of their trend-setting qualities and geographic reach. Journal Scope, the magazine of the National Association of Home Builders, joined PCBC as program sponsor after American Builder, publishing selected winners through most of the 1970s. Since that time, BUILDER has been the most prominent magazine to co-sponsor and publish Gold Nugget winners

The Hallmarks
The Gold Nugget competition is unique.

Gold Nugget honors not only housing designs, but also commercial, recreational and land planning achievements.

Gold Nugget is not a marketing competition. Although relevance to the marketplace is considered, aesthetic merit, innovation and effectiveness in design/planning are the key criteria.

Gold Nugget judges are renowned for integrity and diversity. Panels always include some of the finest architects, planners and builders in the industry. Nationally recognized marketing and market research consultants, publishers and senior editors complete the roster each year, ensuring fair attention and analysis for each entrant.

Gold Nugget was the first to accord full honors to the architect/planning team, as well as to the builder/developer of a winning project.

Gold Nugget is the centerpiece of PCBC. Combining the prestige of the awards themselves with the excitement of its Academy Awards-style presentation, these ceremonies feature live music, entertainment and exceptional production. The black tie gala is always a sellout, drawing more than 1200 attendees each year.

Designed in 1978, the trophy is an impressive sculptural piece, synonymous with the building industry's most coveted recognition. Equally distinctive Merit Award plaques are as proudly displayed as the Grand Award trophy. A Gold Nugget win generates publicity for the entire team, through excellent, nation-wide coverage by BUILDER, and a growing number of major metropolitan newspapers. Professional assistance for entrants and agencies who contact Gold Nugget headquarters further strengthens publicity efforts made on behalf of all winners.

Thanks to its unique Advisory Committee, the Gold Nugget Awards program responds thoughtfully to changing realities. Meeting at least once yearly, the Advisory Committee includes a cross-section of industry professionals. Many have judged Gold Nugget and other awards programs. Because of their judicious efforts, categories and requirements are continually refined, fresh opportunities are made available to prospective entrants and entry processes are simplified.

The Innovations
In concert with executive leaders of PCBC, the Gold Nugget Advisory Committee has inaugurated changes that sustain Gold NuggetŐs reputation as the competition that defines the leading edge—changes often copied by other programs. Among them:

Pacific Rim—since 1991, Gold Nugget territory has encompassed all countries bordering on the Pacific Ocean. Expanding "Best in the West" to such countries as Australia, Canada, Malaysia, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Singapore and Thailand, this inclusive approach acknowledges the growing ties between the U.S. and Pacific Rim countries, and sharpens the competition itself.

NEW for 2006 – the Gold Nugget Advisory Committee has expanded the international eligibility to encompass any, and all, international countries.
Home of The Year—this discretionary honor showcases the single design with the most impact and merit for the industry. Introduced in 1978, Gold Nugget was the first awards competition to feature Home of The Year honors.

International Housing Awards—introduced in 1991, the Gold Nugget Awards has recognized projects through this discretionary honor, showcasing the merit and significance of international designs.

Judges Special Award of Excellence—Gold Nugget launched the Judges Special in 1978, and is the first competition to offer such an award. The purpose: to properly recognize projects that may not fit standard categories, but deserve notice by the industry and public. Social relevance frequently plays a role, as do innovation and design distinction.

Affordable Housing—achievements in affordability have been honored since 1978.

Green Building and Sustainable Projects —recognizing energy conserving designs, particularly those which avoid or reduce the use of mechanical equipment.

Builders Community Spirit Award—recognizing various philanthropic efforts made by the building community on behalf of the less fortunate.


Return to Articles List